No longer

The note I’ve reproduced below refers to a bygone era, and the book in which it was inscribed is not likely to be read again.  Still, the note itself is beautiful to me. I don’t want to part with it, so I’ve decided to save just this one page. 

Although not related by blood, the writers (and the givers of the gift-book) feel like first cousins once removed, and they were on my mailing list for the worship digest newsletter I sent out during the 90s.  Because of that and other interactions, they recognized a desire in me; at the time, I was very active in worship leadership and was relatively effective in carrying on a portion of my grandfather’s work and message.  At this point in life, however, that is no longer the case.

Now, I am deeply hurt over the current state of affairs with my extended family, for several have shown no regard (and worse). A decade ago, one of them overtly attempted to reprove me for “associating myself” with my grandfather.  I don’t recall ever making statements to the effect that I was like he was, although I did desire to carry on his influence. 

The image below tells the story of a portion of Granddaddy’s influence. A few years after he was told¹ he was no longer directing the Harding Chorus, his successor (who, incidentally, was a good deal more technically qualified, and who also influenced people for good) honored him with this tribute on the cover of a hymns record. 

[Please ignore typos on the name of Andy T. Ritchie, Jr.  I imagine those occurred during the later transference of these words to a CD liner.]

Today would have been Granddaddy Ritchie’s 115th birthday. 

A little more than forty years ago, he died. 

About thirty years ago, the above note of affirmation was written by family friends. 

Twenty years ago, my leadership opportunities were already drying up, but they still came once in a while.

Flourishing again seems possible only in the next life, as far as I can see.  Survival and maintenance are the order of the day.  Thriving is no longer in view, but man, would a return to thriving be a welcome change, if God wills it!  As for Granddaddy and my mom and dad, they would have loved me, anyway.  As for some others, I’m not so sure.  I depend on the grace of my Eternal Father, whose love never has a “no longer” attached to it.

Please share your thoughts. I read every comment.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.