Colorblindness, accusations of racism, and Florida

Perceived shifts in society and in language give me pause.  The working definition of “racism,” for instance, seems to have morphed.  Here’s an example:  a commentator labeled a “conservative” border policy “racist.”  The policy is not focused on race at all, but its effect is seen as racist.  The new working definition of the word “racist” tries to keep the assessment of the border policy safe from challenge.

How racism harms children - Harvard Health

In my job a couple of months ago, I was privileged to interact with, and broker small deals with, two people whose skin is much darker than my own.  (Admittedly, the meat of an apple is darker than my skin, but that’s beside the point.)  Did I notice their color when I first met them?  Yes, but I also notice the colors of cars in the parking lot, and it’s not as though the skin color affected my conversation.  I had only pleasant interactions with the men, and ended up supporting each of them in ways that would have been impossible for a racist.  In other words, if I were racist in the way I understand racism, I would have rejected them out of hand, on the basis of their skin color.

I would confidently assert that I’m not a racist, but neither am I colorblind At times I know I’m biased.  Some biases may be related to skin color, but mine also relate to behaviors and backgrounds; these are not based on race.  More important:  I am typically able to overcome my biases.  (Well, except with rednecks.  I can’t stand being around rednecks and others who act in a low-class manner.) It was only after the second business deal captioned above that I connected the two in terms of skin color—and realized that I had been really unaffected by the race/color/ethnicity.  I had sat in the vehicle of one of those men for quite a while for conversation.

I imagine I will continue to feel that being colorblind is a reasonable goal, whereas the world seems to have moved in a more radical direction—that is, to see color starkly and to act differentially, based more on skin and claimed racial background than on merit or ethics.  The situation is growing worse for people like me, based on our now apparently unfortunate, natal skin color.

Now, about the Florida public school curriculum and a much-ballyhooed mention of slavery . . . .

The first bit I heard referenced Governor DeSantis, and I immediately thought that he had simply been a little careless in making his comment.  (Or, just as likely, he was taken out of context.)  After that, I saw references to the statement by those who are markedly on the left, and I knew the comment had quickly become a politicized matter more than a matter for discourse or consideration.

Then, on the morning of July 31st, I listened to a a fair treatment of the situation and learned that

  • The current curriculum is an expansion of a curriculum that was in its infancy 30 years ago.
  • 13 Florida scholars, including people of color, came together in a working group, in order to ensure appropriate perspective and responsible, thoroughgoing treatment of the subject.
  • One scholar who helped develop the curriculum—a black man—offered a strong demurrer to VP Harris’s emotional, apparently uninformed, public criticism:¹  he asserted that she moved from “stating a falsehood” to “repeating a lie.”
  • As to substance:  the curriculum in question amounts to more than 211 pages, and sections are devoted to the harsh conditions of passage, what slaves endured when they tried to escape, and more.  Frederick Douglass is quoted in the passage that has created controversy.  The idea that slaves could possibly build on the severe difficulties they faced would be reasonable for anyone who is willing to consider a range of possibilities.  Such a notion is not by any stretch “racist” in a negative sense.

Based on what I have heard in a 15-minute podcast, I would lean heavily toward supporting the Florida curriculum and hope other states will follow suit.  On the contrary, the obviously unconsidered biases of the likes of VP Harris (and, reportedly, the persons who host TV’s “The View”) show negative examples of people who are willing to jump to criticism without knowledge.  The Florida curriculum seems to be characterized by rational, historically appropriate treatment with scholarly perspective.  At more than 200 pages, this standalone curriculum—not merely a brief nod hidden within an “American History” course—has shown that it is willing to treat a sensitive topic extensively, moving toward deeper education of young people.  All would do well to avoid simple-minded kowtowing to so-called Critical Race Theory as a philosophical basis for curricula that end up highly biased and incendiary at their core.

Which is more fair and less racist—an immediate leap to an unwarranted conclusion based on a careless quotation, or honest consideration of an extensive treatment of the history of a horrible chapter in American history that mentions the strong character and development of a great many former slaves and their descendants?


¹ I suggest that VP Harris was participating in the politicization, contra Mr. DeSantis, or she didn’t know anything about the curriculum or its genesis, or both.  She is culpable, in any case.

7 thoughts on “Colorblindness, accusations of racism, and Florida

    • Bob Bell 08/03/2023 / 12:10 pm

      We haven’t talked for a long time. I read many of your posts (but not all I admit). You are correct. VP Harris was engaged in gruesome politicking against a rising star in the Republican Party. Naturally she lied and misrepresented the facts. This is standard operating procedure (see Rules for Radicals by Saul Alinsky). She belongs to a party that is bent on destroying America’s Judeo-Christian society. As for the term ‘racism’, the radicals have redefined the term to be applied to anyone with any criticism of their neo-marxist ideology. Similarly, if you do not show the proper contrition in response to the radicals’ white shaming, they’ll call you a ‘White Supremacist’.

      Like

    • Brian Casey 08/03/2023 / 12:35 pm

      Great to hear from you, Bob. I’m not a white supremacist, nor are you, but it’s difficult to get anyone on the radical side to see reason in such areas. I haven’t been your way in several years, but the next time I am, I’ll plan to look you up.

      Like

    • Brian Casey 08/03/2023 / 12:35 pm

      So glad to hear from you, dear lady! Have been following your recovery through Scott.

      Like

    • godschildrenorg 08/04/2023 / 2:27 am

      Brian, I knew I would get “old.” But never imagined this complete helplessness. I suffered confusion, could not walk or feed myself…lessons learned to share with others.

      I have to say that you went over and beyond what many adult children do. You know 2 of mine completely abandoned us when we returned to mission field. Maybe there was better preparation needed for them??? But we never dictated to them how to live their lives. We did not think to ask for their thoughts about that.

      By that time, their mates had caused a wide gulf between them and us. We cannot change history. Scott and precious wife stuck with us. For that, I am very thankful. Now, around the clock Registered Nurses of high quality in Greece help me find joy…and appetite. God tells me that when I ask forgiveness from those people I have been unkind to, He will accept me to live with Him. I have asked quite a few, but am waiting to be aware of the ones my attitude hurt…growth opportunity.
      So there you have it. I TRUST YOU WITH MY DEEPEST THOUGHTS. I put it on your blog. Maybe my words will encourage some to think about this for themselves. I do not know who reads your blog, but this is a beginning. I can share with you. I hope I have never hurt you. If I have you must tell me, OK?
      I will always love you, pray for you, my nephew.
      aa, recuperating slowly indoors, benefiting from Athens sun

      Like

    • Brian Casey 08/06/2023 / 10:10 am

      I want to assure you that you have never even come close to hurting me. It is sweet that you even think to ask such a thing.

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Brian Casey 08/10/2023 / 7:30 pm

    Florida’s Stop WOKE Act: Stop Wrongs against Our Kids and Educators

    Florida’s state board quote, via Megan Bashem:
    “We reaffirm that we will be moving forward with implementing Florida’s new history standards. Despite the partisan and inaccurate criticism we have received, Florida’s thorough standards promote the teaching of accurate, detailed, and nuanced history, free from political sanitation or indoctrination. Let me be clear: we are not turning our backs on the great work of the African-American history work group. We will implement these standards quickly, transparently, and honestly. It will accrue to the benefit of our students.” – Manny Diaz, Jr. Florida’s Education Commissioner

    Like

Please share your thoughts. I read every comment.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.