I visited a church

One Sunday morning, I visited a church.  This is no uncommon occurrence, and I often want to comment on my experiences, but most of the time, I just don’t.  This visit was a couple months ago, and I almost forgot about it, because I will never go back to that place.  However, I found some notes I’d made, so here goes. . . .

I noted that there was a “genuine friendliness,” that is, the greetings I experienced seemed normal, natural and not forced, i.e., not part of a program.¹

The readings and scripture references, and not incidentally, the pew Bibles, were in the King James Version.  Even an older man who spoke stumbled over the syntax of this version, which I found pathetic.²  Although there are some special-purpose applications, the KJV should really not be used for public readings in this day and age.

There was very little meaningful content in the first three or four songs.  In addition (or, I should say, “in subtraction”), there was no heart or energy in the congregational singing.  I breathed a sigh of relief and then felt some spiritual encouragement when we got to sing “Hallelujah! What a Savior!” a little later on.

The gentleman who read before communion was quite expressive in his reading, despite the use of the King James.  For that I was grateful.

The speaker used Halley’s Bible Handbook as a source.  I think I still have one of those, but it’s hasn’t been out of the box in probably 20 years.  It’s not necessarily a bad thing to use Halley’s but it only goes so far, and far better sources exist.  It’s difficult to know how I could have contributed to, or benefited from, a group that appeals to Halley’s and the KJV as staples.

The sermon referred to Daniel, and the approach to that book was one I could not affirm, but I listened politely.  As the sermon progressed, it was apparent that it was not about prophecy or history or eschatology or courage in the face of one’s personal lion’s dens, or conscience, or prayer, or anything else that might have been expected to arise out of the Daniel text.  The focus was actually on capitalism!  I kid you not!  The parable of the talents was applied to the success of our nation, and the congregation was exhorted not to feel guilty for having done well as a country.  Other texts were used, including 1Thessalonians, John, 2Thessalonians, Genesis, Hebrews, Nehemiah, and 1Corinthians.  At that point in my note taking, I seem to have become huffy:  I basically threatened in my notes that if the speaker continued down that bad path, I would shake my head gruffly and walk out.  (I didn’t do that.)

And that, dear readers, is what that Sunday was like for me.  The most recent Sunday, on the other hand, was not that bad, but neither was it good.  I left after an attention-deficit-disordered attempt at a Bible class, and came home to watch six episodes of the Frasier, which lightened my heart and countenance considerably.

Lord Jesus, I’m so weary.


¹ Some churches seem to have a posse formed for the purpose of greeting visitors.  These “ministers” are under the impression that rushing newcomers is hospitable.  Not really.  I suppose a large segment of the population is impressed by the sort of thing, but they shouldn’t be, and I’m not.  If you are, or have ever been, part of a greeting ministry, you might take offense at these pronouncements, but I’m not stopping yet.  I have this to say about greeting ministries: I wish they were put out of my misery.

² Pathetic because even the older man couldn’t declaim such awkward language, despite the “that’s how I’ve always heard it since I was a child” motif.

Please share your thoughts. I read every comment.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.