A jolt at Jason’s

Mistakes can be embarrassing.  They can annoy or mark us as careless.  Little mistakes may even doggedly pursue or beset us—such as the mistakes on the two introductory book pages I had written, proofed, revised, proofed, read again, published, found errors in, revised, proofed, published, and still found errors in.  (Yes, I revised it still again.)

At Jason’s Deli a month or so ago, the following table card advertised a charitable cause.  Now, the cancer-fight cause is obviously good, and Jason’s is a good place to get great salads and more, but the proofing was not so good.  See the white words in the red background below.

I don’t think they meant to have the cancer victim saying she never had any doubt she would lose the battle.  If the Kristin they’ve quoted is an actual person and not a created, representative figure, I have to think she had a jolt when she saw the table cards!

B. Casey, 7/23/16

2 thoughts on “A jolt at Jason’s

  1. Gary D. Collier 07/28/2016 / 8:50 am

    Thanks Brian, I certainly get your point and agree that in print this would be better if corrected. However, double negatives, in some parts of the country, are colloquially used for strong positives. E.g., I’ve often heard people say things like: “I wouldn’t be surprised if he didn’t show up!” Which means, “I’ll bet anything that guy shows up!” I agree that that is not what it literally says, but that is what it means to the speaker. So I might guess that this is what happened here. I can at least imagine a person saying, “I never doubted that I wouldn’t overcome it,” giving more thought to a colloquial sentiment than to grammar. It might be an error; but it might not be.
    Gary

    Like

    • Brian Casey 07/28/2016 / 9:18 am

      Interesting thought. I’ve stumbled over a colloquial thing or two like this. The one that comes to mind is “I could care less,” which means “I couldn’t care less” — not exactly the same thing, but similar. My thought now is that, if that’s what it was in the conception, it still should have been changed for printed form on that card!

      Like

Please share your thoughts. I read every comment.

