The morning newspaper is upsetting

On the first morning of a Delaware visit, I picked up the newspaper.  I read of

  • A downstate resident who had been incarcerated for more than a year, having likely been misunderstood and mischaracterized for his efforts to communicate with an ISIS leader to secure the release of ISIS prisoners
  • Another horrific attack that killed people—this one in Nice, France
  • Two initially neutral, reasonable editorial overviews:
    • one that at first seemed to paint a balanced, informative picture of a likely vice presidential nominee but which then incorporated a demonstrably biased, excessive “spin”
    • another that more or less says that, yes, both presidential candidates are repulsive, but only one is really qualified, and the other is ridiculous (no matter how much I might agree, how is that language anything other than partisan and divisive?)

Why do so many people begin their days by reading the newspaper?  It’s pretty discouraging, and I found myself in a troubled mood for a couple of hours.  I just want to get back into Matthew.  Or the Psalms.  Or Philippians.  Or something.

Yet it will not do simply to retreat, leaving the horrors as though they are not in any way my concern.  It is important to know what is going on in the world, to an extent, so that I may reach into my part of it and attempt to make an eternal difference.  I must keep my feet on the ground as I listen to the “upward call.”  (Philippians 3:14)

4 thoughts on “The morning newspaper is upsetting

  1. Vic Thom 07/17/2016 / 11:32 am

    Daily Bible reading is even more attractive these days. We no longer subscribe to a national or regional newspaper and limit our TV news coverage. Reporters now think they should give us their opinion of the news they’re covering. The who when why where what and how gets glossed over by feelings about the news.

    My Bible reading includes the Gospels, OT readings, NT readings, and several Psalms. Refreshing!

    Like

    • Brian Casey 07/17/2016 / 1:49 pm

      I’m with you. Thx for sharing your experience and view!

      Like

  2. Steve 07/18/2016 / 1:35 pm

    My morning routine for years: wake up, read-reflect-journal-pray. Watch Good Morning America. The first gives me Good News; the second gives me bad news.

    Like

    • Brian Casey 07/18/2016 / 3:37 pm

      I need at least some habits, I suspect. The newspaper alone, I think, is a bad idea.

      Like

Please share your thoughts. I read every comment.

