Observations of public education

Here are a few relatively harmless, easy-to-read observations related to public education.

The only PTA/PTO/PTFO meeting I’ve ever attended was yesterday, and it might well be my last.  The tiny attendance and certain things I picked up from those in power indicated that all the stories I’ve heard for years about PTOs could be true.  I have little interest in the antics and pretenses.

On the other hand, there are other ways to help your child’s school besides committees and fundraisers and candypacks for teachers.  The school music teacher and I are doing a little holiday brass demo/recital thingy next week.  A little horn, a little trumpet; a little lyricism, a little jollity . . .  Bach/Gounod, My Favorite Things, The First Noel, Jingle Bells, We Wish You.  ‘Twill be an extraordinary bit of music education that sprang from an ordinary, get-to-know-you conversation with a music teacher who wants to give her students something special.  Oh, and Jedd will get to make a few brass sounds for his class and 6 other classes in his grade.  Should be fun.

I’ve been in two special ed classrooms lately and have noted that a greater percentage of those students display questionable personal hygiene.  I speculate that the parents of some of these children may show them less affection and love, and I’m saddened by the lack of attention to appearance and cleanliness.  I also realize one more reason that special ed teachers are also special:  they want to give extra care and loving attention to special-needs children who don’t always receive as much at home.

Please share your thoughts. I read every comment.

