Four (or five) views

In a newly e-published book on four views of baptism, one might learn about the general positions of Baptists, of Reformed types, of Lutherans, and of the ARM (American Restoration Movement/Christian Church/Church of Christ).  Those groups represent rather disparate, significant views on this subject. I just got this book free, but I doubt I’ll read it.  I’m not very interested in those views.  I’m after the biblical view(s).  Although some of those views are more off the biblical mark than others and are of interest only in a historical or comparative sense, no sect can rightly lay claim to holding all the truth on a subject like this.  As for me and my house, we want to know what the scriptural messages are, and how the very first Christians practiced baptism and were taught about it.

In a book on five views of communion, one might learn about the typical tenets of Catholic, Reformed, Lutheran, Baptist, and Pentecostal believers.  I am a trifle more interested in those views am but, again, am really after the biblical view(s), above the historical views of any denomination or denominational grouping.  (I didn’t shell out $ for this book.)

Next:  two views of national holidays “at church”

2 thoughts on “Four (or five) views

  1. John Eoff 06/08/2015 / 8:09 am

    Ron McRay just published a really interesting book concerning “communion”. The title is “Is it Wine or is it Grape juice?”, and it deals with the title subject extensively but also with other aspects of the Lord’s Supper. It is available on amazon.com in paper back or Kindle and is not expensive. I think any body with any interest in the subject would appreciate reading this book.
    jde

    Like

    • Brian Casey 06/08/2015 / 8:16 am

      Thanks. Is this Ron Rob McRay’s dad, retired from Wheaton (?) I have spent too much on books and software recently, and I’m afraid to expend effort on delving more into communion when I really don’t believe I’ll have m/any worthwhile experiences this side of eternity. It’s easier to keep my distance. But then again, I did sign up for translation of 1Cor 11:23-26. Dumb me.

      Like

Please share your thoughts. I read every comment.

