Of authors and life

Recently, in a fit of shelf-reorganization, my gaze and thoughts fell on books.  (Another day, I may tell of CDs.)

I commented to my wife that I would credit only three current-day Christian authors with changing my life.

 

books

The first of these is Rubel Shelly, with his restorationist I Just Want To Be a Christian (1984).  For 15 years or more, my direction was changed; for life, my comprehension of the universal church was altered.  It was, of course, not so much a new direction that Shelly commended to those who would hear and read.  Rather, it was a bona fide (in the truest sense of that term) return to the unity ideals of the American Restoration Movement.  Shelly recently stepped out of his role as president of Rochester College, a relatively progressive Christian college.  He now serves as chancellor and teaches courses in philosophy, ethics, logic, and introduction to Christianity.

The second was Cecil Hook.  Cecil’s Free series included Free in Christ, Free To Speak, Free As Sons, Free To Change, and Free To Accept (1984-1994), all distributed free of charge.  Cecil, who was once a preacher and later simply cleaned the church house to eke out a living, was a remarkable figure for me and for many others in challenge of traditional beliefs and practices.  After I put a few feet forward in offering some proofreading, Cecil regularly invited me into his writing-world by sending drafts of articles.  I had the distinct honor of proofing a couple of his books and portions of others, including the entire manuscript of the 2nd edition of his first book, Free in Christ.  Always an example of grace and kindness, even in his most challenging of challenges, Cecil was fond of closing an article with words like these:  “I will understand if you do not arrive at the same understanding.  But we are still brothers — sons of the same impartial Father” (Free to Change, p. 101).  It bears mention that sometimes the experience of someone else’s life and manner does not harmonize with the power of the same person’s pen.  (Mea culpa.)  In the case of Cecil Hook, I found, through a string of communications over a period of years, and during one visit in his home, that his was the humble, inviting kind of spirit from whom anyone could learn.  The grace this man showed to others was not always shown to him:  I personally witnessed the censure of some watchdogs as they passed my display of Hook’s books at a men’s retreat.  Some years ago, a website with Hook’s writings was corrupted; since I am a bit prone to fear conspiracy, I wondered if the site had been an intentional target of some with malevolent intent.  Cecil Hook is now in the “land of the eternally living” (his words at the passing of his wife Lea a few years before).

The third is Gary Collier, through many writings of both public and private-group nature —not the least of which are his monograph Scripture Canon and Inspiration (2012) and his work on Matthew’s gospel The Forgotten Treasure:  Reading the Bible Like Jesus (1993).  Gary is more energetic than ever these days.  I have quoted him on this blog before and will again.  His voice is singular.  He is a first-rate textual Bible scholar, and a Christian sibling who cares deeply about many, despite the miles between them.  Gary’s online study program Coffee With Paul is innovative, instructional, and peopled by many deeply committed students.  One of Gary’s mantras is “contextual, responsible, and conversational Bible study.”  He also manages a chock-full Bible study resources portal at bibledashboard.com.

These authors’ voices have been positively life-changing for me.  The Shelly and Hook writings served important purposes during a prior period of life in which I was constantly engaged in evaluating and reevaluating the traditions in which I had been raised.  I discovered new courage to open my eyes, heart, and mind, and I continue to believe those men were on target.

At this juncture, there is no author’s voice as significantly formative for me as Gary Collier’s; his insistence on reading scripture devotedly, honestly, and responsibly continues to shape me.

I am grateful for the influence of each of these authorial voices in my life.

5 thoughts on “Of authors and life

  1. godschildrenorg 12/30/2014 / 2:07 pm

    Would that all people were as intentionally following Jesus as you are Brian. Your thoughtful, kind words honoring these 3 men shows your true heart as well as theirs. ~~ Anne in Transylvania

    Like

  2. Tom Strother 12/31/2014 / 3:37 pm

    Happy New Year Brian! I commend you for consistently sharing your thoughts with us. I have often pored over Cecil Hook’s, Free In Christ and I once saw in the contributions that you had proofread the text. I was thinking before I saw your list of the three authors, that brother Hook just might be included, as he should be! ~~Tom in Knoxville

    Like

    • Brian Casey 12/31/2014 / 5:58 pm

      Dear Tom, thanks for this note, and HNY to you, too. Are you working w/a church in Knoxville? I thought you were in AR and had mentioned your name toward the bottom in this post about the HU A Cappella “Life of Christ in Scripture and Song” program: https://blcasey.wordpress.com/2014/11/26/worship-in-the-80s-part-3/.

      The last time I was near Knoxville, I would have thought twice before mentioning Cecil’s name in a positive light. (Maybe things have changed.) 🙂 On the other hand, a dear lady in Chattanooga, upon recognizing that I didn’t fit too well with what was then a more narrow setting, gave me a book of Leroy Garrett’s. Cecil was a gentleman and a consistently good clear thinker. He wasn’t the scholar that Rubel is (in some areas) or that Gary Collier is, and Cecil wouldn’t have claimed anything scholarly, but he definitely had some stuff right on, didn’t he?

      Like

    • Tom Strother 01/02/2015 / 3:19 pm

      Hey Brian, I did work in Hardy, AR with the Downtown C of C between 1985-89 and then moved to Memphis and married Jodie Baker (Harding ’89)who began law school at the University of Memphis and now teaches 2nd grade in Knoxville.  We were able to transfer to Knoxville because of mywork in cellular sales in ’92.  I have since worked with a congregation of the Christian Church near Harlan, Ky and also sold cars for about 16 yrs.Jodie and I have three outstanding daughters.  Tori, our oldest is a junior at Harding and studying graphic design.  I’m currently thinking about pursuing a Master’s in Theology.  I sure miss our singin’ days!  I’ll talk to you again soon, and thanks for taking time to respond. Tom From: NT Christianity To: tom.strother@yahoo.com Sent: Wednesday, December 31, 2014 7:58 PM Subject: [New comment] Of authors and life #yiv6293792719 a:hover {color:red;}#yiv6293792719 a {text-decoration:none;color:#0088cc;}#yiv6293792719 a.yiv6293792719primaryactionlink:link, #yiv6293792719 a.yiv6293792719primaryactionlink:visited {background-color:#2585B2;color:#fff;}#yiv6293792719 a.yiv6293792719primaryactionlink:hover, #yiv6293792719 a.yiv6293792719primaryactionlink:active {background-color:#11729E;color:#fff;}#yiv6293792719 WordPress.com Brian Casey commented: “Dear Tom, thanks for this note, and HNY to you, too. Are you working w/a church in Knoxville? I thought you were in AR and had mentioned your name toward the bottom in this post about the HU A Cappella “Life of Christ in Scripture and Song” program: htt” | | Respond to this comment by replying above this line |

      | | | |

      | New comment on NT Christianity | |

      | | | Brian Casey commented on Of authors and life. in response to Tom Strother: Happy New Year Brian! I commend you for consistently sharing your thoughts with us. I have often pored over Cecil Hook’s, Free In Christ and I once saw in the contributions that you had proofread the text. I was thinking before I saw your list of the three authors, that brother Hook just might be […] Dear Tom, thanks for this note, and HNY to you, too. Are you working w/a church

      Like

    • Brian Casey 01/03/2015 / 7:45 am

      Tom, thanks for the catch-up news. Harlan looks like a haul from Knoxville! Have you ever run across Steve and Donna Jo Meeks who run (or were running, the last I knew) an Appalachian church-planting mission on the state line near Jellico on I-75? They were at Harding before you and me and were Kenya mission teammates of Monte and Beth Cox.

      Like

Please share your thoughts. I read every comment.

