MM: Sing to me of __________

It’s Monday, and this is about music.  Thus the “MM.”

If you’re a CofCer with more than 10 years of history in the “fellowship,”¹ you can likely complete the phrase “Sing to me of ______” subconsciously.  The word that goes in the blank is “heaven,” because of a song that’s been popular in many congregations — particularly those in the South and those influenced by southern transplants.

But “Sing to Me of Heaven” — like “The New Song” in its topical area — doesn’t really do much of what it talks about.  These are both indirect song-offerings that ostensibly point to other songs that actually do the important stuff.

Below are some thoughts from some of the most inspiring heaven- or eternity-related songs I know.  This is by no means an all-time “dream team” listing, but I hope you’ll agree that there are some uniquely worthwhile thoughts here.  Most of this was typed from memory.

One sweetly solemn thought comes to me o’er and o’er:  today I’m nearer to my home than e’er I’ve been before.  – P. Cary

If I weep, let it be as a man who is longing for his home.  – R. Mullins

O in that hour, fairer than daylight dawning,
Shall rise the glorious thought, I am with Thee.  – H. B. Stowe

Glorious things of thee are spoken, Zion, city of our God.  J. Newton

Lo!  What a glorious sight appears to our believing eyes!
How long, dear Savior, oh, how long, shall this bright hour delay?
Fly swifter ’round, ye wheels of time, and bring the welcome day.  – I. Watts

The hour is hast’ning on when we shall be forever with the Lord.  – K. von Schlegel

Soon His beauty we’ll behold.  – E. Hewitt

And, Lord, haste the day when the faith shall be sight, the clouds be rolled back as a scroll,
The trump shall resound and the Lord shall descend. . . .  H.G. Spafford

This MM / “Monday Music” thing is not really a series anymore, but it used to be.  You can find more of them here.

================

¹By “fellowship,” we typically don’t mean to imply partnership and togetherness, as suggested by most instances of the Greek koinonia.  Typically, we mean “denomination,” whether we can admit it or not.

2 thoughts on “MM: Sing to me of __________

  1. daniel 12/01/2014 / 10:53 am

    My brain wouldn’t fill in the blank correctly. I kept saying Jesus. Over and over I kept saying Jesus.

    I guess subconsciously I wish we would just focus more on Jesus.

    Like

    • Brian Casey 12/01/2014 / 10:59 am

      It could be that you’re not truly loyal to, or indoctrinated by, “the fellowship.” Or it could just be that you have good priorities! 🙂

      Like

Please share your thoughts. I read every comment.

