Are these your church’s stats?

Sometimes I wonder how many churches are really financially healthy.  The stats shown below are from the Sunday bulletin of a church we visited in May.  The numbers are different in each distinct church, of course, but I’m guessing the numeric relationships will look sadly familiar to many of you.

wpid-2014-05-29_16-16-51_189.jpg

What I’m interested in here is the “blah”ness and disengagement that comes from churches’ not meeting their budgets and experiencing decreases is attendance.  I’m thinking that the discrepancies might say something about leadership and/or morale, in general.  Or maybe it’s just declining demographics and/or economies . . . some of which may in turn lead back to morale and leadership issues.

(I also wonder whether financial health can be correlated much with spiritual health, but that’s a tangent.)

Essentially, this little church bulletin caption looks all too familiar to me.

Oh, and one more thing: I’m convinced that the more organic groups, e.g., groups that meet in homes, aren’t characterized by the same kinds of number blahs.

Please share your thoughts. I read every comment.

