Pillow Prayers 12

I share this 12th and final set of “pillow prayers” from Patsy Clairmont because a) my words aren’t this good, and my thoughts, much too dense these days; and b) I think some of us, including me, need to have material like this for our own prayers.

Omega, I’m relieved that You have the final say…  In life, work, relationships, politics, wars, and death.  Not that I don’t question Your ways and Your timing, . . .

. . .

Wonderful counselor, speak your words into my spirit.  Loose me from my shallow routines.  I keep falling headlong into the pit of habit.  I want to change, but I need a Samaritan’s hand to pull me out of this familiar pit.

Perhaps I need a holy jolt.   . . .

© 2005 Patsy Clairmont, published by J. Countryman/Thomas Nelson Book Group

2 thoughts on “Pillow Prayers 12

  1. godschildrenorg 07/02/2014 / 3:17 pm

    What a brave prayer. Having prayed something similar, God answered with several jolts. They say what doesn’t kill you will make you stronger. When I was about 29, after an illness nearly took my life, I brashly told God that I knew He was preparing me for something more challenging…and that I did not want it! He ignored me…and continues to jolt me every few years…He waits for me to grow more…but never abandons me.

    Like

    • Brian Casey 07/02/2014 / 3:39 pm

      The last line is definitely bold if viewed as a request, but I’m confused and distant enough to have been viewing that more as a noncommital musing! At this time, I’m resonating more with “Loose me” and “Not that I don’t question Your ways and timing. . . .” It is good to hear from someone a few years older than I that she can look back and feel that she has never been abandoned.

      On Wed, Jul 2, 2014 at 3:17 PM, NT Christianity wrote:

      >

      Like

Please share your thoughts. I read every comment.

