Model Bo Peep?

I’m immediately drawn in by this kind of humble, open assessment I read recently:

In my former life as a pastor, I was a dispenser of comfortable Christianity. I took on the job of creating a “conducive environment” for worship.  What this really meant was making a worship event cushy enough that people would want to come and then come back:  comfortable seats, coffee, pleasing worship music, and a sermon that holds attention.  Unfortunately, regularly attending a comfortable worship event has become the primary marker of what it means to be a Christian today.  – Roger Thoman

Thoman continues by enjoining Christians to “replace ‘come-structures’ with go-structures.’”  We shouldn’t be focusing most of our Christianity within the walls of the church edifice, inviting others to come see us.

Following Thoman’s words, a writer dubbed “Hamo” wrapped this up and put it in a little box to give to all who will hear:

If Jesus were alive today and His mission were still to seek out and save the lost . . .

Would He hire a building, set up a sound system, develop a music team, drama team, and then do local letterbox drops advising people that they could come and be part of His church on Sunday?

. . .

Little Bo Peep evangelism (leave ‘em alone and they’ll come home) is fast running out of steam…

And, for my part, I consider Thoman and Hamo and think something between “Yes” and “Yeah!”

But then I don’t do a thing about what I think.

I think I need to take some action.

2 thoughts on “Model Bo Peep?

  1. godschildrenorg 06/28/2014 / 10:32 am

    Good thoughts. How about a “comfortable, welcoming, uplifting” service that inspires people to go be Lights in the Darkness, living, breathing Intentional Followers of Jesus who draw people to Jesus? ~~ Anne in Transylvania

    Like

    • Brian Casey 06/28/2014 / 8:27 pm

      Personally, I like the ideas and emphases you have here. (I would change one word — “service,” because of its longstanding use in Christendom, rarely gets questioned, but it connotes ritual and ceremony more than enlightening inspiration.) I think Thoman and Hamo would still prefer a less assembly-centric statement, but I certainly think a gathering of your description is what is needed!

      On Sat, Jun 28, 2014 at 10:32 AM, NT Christianity wrote:

      >

      Like

Please share your thoughts. I read every comment.

