Pillow Prayers 11

I post these “pillow prayers” from Patsy Clairmont because a) my words aren’t this good, and my thoughts, much too dense these days; and b) I think some of us, including me, need to have material like this for our own prayers.

I long to leave a rich history, footprints for others to follow.  Speak life into any barren agendas I have, that they might bring forth pleasing fruit.  I realize I can do the right thing for the wrong reasons.  Purify my infected motives.

. . .

Friend of sinners, I’m pacing.  Harsh words spoken by another keep replaying inside me.  Help me not to obsessively rifle through the conversation in search of more than was there.  Protect me from coddling pride as if it’s my best friend.

. . .

Holy Renewer, I’ve pushed toward deadlines and other people’s expectations.  Now I’m spent.  I don’t resent an active life unless my efforts divert me from Your superior paths.  My desire is that my energies bring forth enduring results.

. . .

© 2005 Patsy Clairmont, published by J. Countryman/Thomas Nelson Book Group

Please share your thoughts. I read every comment.

