Collier on authority and inspiration

“ . . . The more I understand the nature of the texts in front of us, the better informed can be my view of scriptural authority.  I will be less likely to overstatGDCe it, and less likely to understate it.  E.g., on the one hand, I won’t make claims about so-called “perfect” original autographs, when that is nothing but speculation growing out of dogmatic theory.  On the other hand, I won’t deny God working in real people to carry out his will (i.e. real and flawed authors).

So then, if find out that Paul incorrectly reports a number in 1Cor 10:8, or if I come to realize that the Gospels don’t actually agree in all details and cannot be flawlessly combined into one account, I won’t make the ridiculous statement “If there is even one little mistake in the Bible, then I can’t trust any of it.”  . . .

If we need to “trump up” our statements of biblical authority, it implies a weak position.  The best statement of biblical authority is one that fits the evidence we have of the actual texts.

 – Gary Collier, CoffeeWithPaul.com (scroll down about a screen’s worth)

~ ~ ~

Inspiration is God at work in ancient text to touch and move the lives of people. It does not need to be more complicated than that.

– Gary Collier, Lesson 22 of “40 Things Everybody Should Know about the Bible.”

cw-plogo

cwp1

 

 

2 thoughts on “Collier on authority and inspiration

  1. godschildrenorg 04/01/2014 / 5:55 pm

    How beautifully and simply stated! I needed an inspiring thought before I close my eyes for the night. Thank you, Gary, for this down to earth, uplifting message. Thank you, Brian, for sharing. You seem to track with me no matter how far apart we are as the crow flies! God’s love does extend around the Globe.

    Like

    • Brian Casey 04/02/2014 / 6:44 am

      Gary’s verbal acuity and his sense of pedagogy make it easy (and beneficial) to hear his consistently clear, important messages. So glad this was meaningful to you, too.

      Like

Please share your thoughts. I read every comment.

