MWM: tentacle music (pt 4)

In this mini-series, I’ve been listing and commenting on a few musical compositions that perpetually lure me.   Some music seems to have such friendly-octopus “tentacles”—pulling us toward it, time after time, without letting up over the years.  These installments are being arranged by category:

  1. contemporary (congregational) worship songs
  2. songs from hymnals
  3. other contemporary spiritual songs
  4. secular compositions

Below, then, is my final list in this series, from category # 4.

All beauty is the Lord’s right?  To my knowledge, none of the musical compositions listed below were intended as expressions to bring honor to God, and yet my spirit rejoices in their beauties, their joys, the sensitivities they exhibit, their heightened senses of emotion, their exhilaration, their glistening timbres, their pungent harmonies, their brilliant orchestrations, their artfully inspiring melodic turns, their simplicities. . . .  Each work below has at many points been the source of inspiration, encouragement, and spirit-lifting.  There are many others, but these spring up high:

  1. Ottorinio Respighi:  Pines of Rome
  2. Jan van der Roost:  Canterbury Chorale
  3. Puccini:  “Nessun Dorma” from Turandot
  4. L.v. Beethoven:  Symphony No. 7 (first movement in particular)
  5. Chuck Mangione:  Bellavia
  6. Sir Edward Elgar:  Nimrod from Enigma Variations 

In no case above do I want to write more specifics.  Multiplying words just doesn’t seem right tonight — not for my mood or energy level, nor for the sake of the topic at hand.  I simply want to encourage you to listen to a couple of these.  Pull out the old cassette or vinyl (and buy a player, you die-hard .mp3 fiend, you).  Find a (worthy) YouTube recording.  Purchase a subscription to Naxos.  I don’t know what Spotify and Pandora have available, but surely some of these selections are there.

But don’t be satisfied with computer speakers or earbuds.  Fill up a room with the sounds of this music, and bless God for blessing us with music.  He created it.

[This is an installment in the Monday Worship Music series.  The music listed above is not “worship music” per se, yet it causes me to worship God, and I hope you will find a similar draw.  Find other, related posts through this link.]

3 thoughts on “MWM: tentacle music (pt 4)

  1. SisyphusFalls 09/24/2013 / 12:39 am

    For me, earbuds often dampen the glory of music. You think it’s nice to have it channeled into your head until you unplug the headphones and realize the full joy that comes from having the music you love fill a room. Fabulous 🙂

    A couple of my favorites are Second Essay, The Lark Ascending, and Rain by George Winston. There are so many that pull me in… my best metaphor is like a wave pushing me onto land and then, just when I think I’m ready to dry off, the tide lures me right back in and I am helpless to resist it.

    Oh, how I miss playing my bass……
    Excellent thoughts, sir. Thank you 🙂

    Like

    • Brian Casey 09/24/2013 / 12:44 am

      *Second Essay — *ooh, nice! The Lark has never ascended for me. (I don’t like birds at all.) Most G.Winston I’ve heard is drawing, yes! Thanks for this inspiration on top of inspiration! Put thou now thy little Stein t’ bed (in the cabinet? on the shelf … nah, just take care of him/her!).

      Like

  2. SisyphusFalls 09/25/2013 / 5:54 pm

    Well, when TinyStein is in the world, we shalt! 😀 And you are most welcome 🙂

    Like

Please share your thoughts. I read every comment.

