Voices: [anonymous]

I have the permission of the writer to share this anonymous “voice” — one that intones the periodic thoughts of many of us, I think.

I sat in a church foyer with a group of Christian women for the purpose of ‘prayer’.  All of the language was very respectable, but the atmosphere was stifling and tense.  Prayer requests were given as gossip.  Judgments were made with vocal tones and facial expressions. It was as if a huge vacuum sucked the very life out of the air, leaving everyone depressed or angry.  It was a huge serving of yuck topped off with slop, with a healthy side of blah, blah, blah, blah. (unattributed)

Have you met with that same group before? I have….

3 thoughts on “Voices: [anonymous]

  1. Anne Boyd 09/05/2013 / 11:07 am

    Thank the Lord that I have been spared having to sit through such a session. However, as a minister’s wife, later elder’s wife, we were too often the targets of such people…and it hurt. “Those people” evidently have no joy in their lives better than tearing other people down. Sad….

    Like

    • Brian Casey 09/05/2013 / 12:37 pm

      Sad indeed. I’m glad you haven’t sat through those. I don’t suppose I’ve been in one quite that bad, but many have had a similar element or two.

      Like

  2. Brian Casey 09/05/2013 / 2:22 pm

    2 comments from Facebook readers (pasted in below) indicate again that many of us are very sensitive to judging. Funny, but I didn’t focus in on the judging myself, although I, too, have been both victim and perpetrator. I read this “voice” more broadly, as speaking to a) the fallacy of “respected language,” b) the irony of supposedly spiritual atmospheres that end up being “stifling and tense,” c) prayer becoming gossip, d) implicit judgment, and the perceived spiritual result when any of the above happen. Judgment *can* be appropriate, but yes, J.D., there might be irony when one is judging judgers. 🙂 In this case, I think I know the heart of the “voice” well enough to know that she was assessing the situation aptly and not consigning the others to hell.

    Melanie Keller Lovisa: You can’t pray well when you are judging people. It is very sad that people do this. I know that God hears the prayer beyond the judgement.

    James D. Wallace: Hmmm…the paradox of people judging people who are judging.

    Like

Please share your thoughts. I read every comment.

