MWM: His wounds have paid

[The “MWM” initials stand for “Monday Worship Music.”  The series to which this one is the sequel was called “Monday Music,” and archives may be accessed here.]

Some things are foundational, and others are fluffy.  Some things are essential, and others are mere elaborations.

Sunday evening, we sang, “But this I know with all my heart:  his wounds have paid my ransom.”  This line is the last in the song “How Deep the Father’s Love for Us,” penned by Stuart Townend.  We sang it (twice) and meditated on it some.  While there were many other good lyric lines in our evening, this is the poignant poetry that stood out to me.

I don’t emphasize it here because it is found in a pretty song.

And not because of its author, either.

And not because it’s good poetry, in its genre.

And not even because it manifests the balance of relationship:  our response to God’s action.

I emphasize it here because it articulates a foundational Christian truth.  Long may it be that Christians express this kind of thing when they are together, and when they are apart.

. . .

More than eight years ago, I introduced it to a church in Kansas, and a friend there couldn’t get through it without tears in his eyes.  I remember that response to this day (obviously), and felt joy this summer in renewing that connection.   Also recently, I had opportunity to sing this song with a church for which this song was new.

Some songs are special, touching more than a segment of the Christian world in a specific time period.  Some songs seem to be somewhat universal in their appeal, and they tend to last longer than a fortnight.  Let me start a list of such songs:

  • How Deep the Father’s Love for us
  • Great Is Thy Faithfulness
  • In Christ Alone
  • I Love You, Lord
  • How Great Thou Art

What other songs do you find to be fairly universal in appeal and worthwhile in terms of content?

Please share your thoughts. I read every comment.

