There’s a reason they call them “essentials”

While back in Colorado, where I spent two years in grad school plus quite a few shorter stints, I was vividly reminded of fundamental reasons I had missed the great, western state.

Some things are luxuries:  nice furnishings, relationships with great people, exceptional memories of music-making in a vibrant music community, a relatively healthy church, and even views of the grand Rockies.  (I’m seeing the Front Range off a west-side deck as I type these words.)  These are luxuries and as such are non-essential.

In Colorado, though, these two things seem life-giving:  a drink of mere tap water, and a filling breath of clean, dry air.  Air and water are essentials for living.  If these are not readily available, life can seem, well . . . shriveled up and short of breath.  There’s a reason they call them “essentials.”

P.S.  There’s not a lot my area can do about the air, but they could do something about the water.

2 thoughts on “There’s a reason they call them “essentials”

  1. godschildrenorg 08/30/2012 / 1:48 pm

    Clean, dry air, and 2,200 clear, pure mineral water springs coming through the rocks of the Carpathian Mountains…two great blessings that God gives me daily because I chose to follow His leading to Transylvania. Today, I wanted some fresh purple plums. Joco, my helper, walked over, shook the limbs of one of the plum trees, and gathered a big bowl full of fruit for me. God is good, all the time! Enjoy Colorado!

    Like

    • Brian Casey 08/30/2012 / 8:06 pm

      I’m envious of the clear spring water, in particular. Colorado is now a month in the past for me. The air back home has been pleasantly dr& most of the time. Fresh fruit is always a wonderful part of creation to enjoy!

      Like

Please share your thoughts. I read every comment.

