Flippancy

I spied the following changeable-letter sign yesterday at a church building near Arcade, NY:

“Jesus is the rock, and He rolls my blues away.”

And I loudly reply,

Seriously?!!

I don’t often use the now-common, flippant, denigrating tone that’s associated with that usage of the word “seriously,” but it was an uncontrollable reaction to that sign, and I felt like sharing.

I’m sorry, folks.  I’m sure you meant well, but that is way, way too flippant a way to speak of the Lord of Eternity … not to mention that the whole thing is as selfcentered as it is Jesus-centered.

Please share your thoughts. I read every comment.

