More pick-me-ups

What’s better than a sandwich with horseradish, ginger, olives, and blue cheese (yeah, I had one of those yesterday)?  I do love strong flavors in sauces and salsas, but fresh blueberries from the Childs blueberry farm near Franklinville, NY have been the best treat this week.

image

The berries were luscious on Tuesday, and we picked 20 pounds of ’em.  Organically grown, and relatively cheap, too–$1.40/lb.  Jedd loves them and was just discussing having more.  He’d already eaten 10 or 12 at breakfast.  I said, “We shouldn’t eat too many.”  To which he replied, “Well, can I have one blueberry?” He is 26 months old, and he reasons with words like “well” and “because” and “but.”  Who could ask for a more charming kid? Take that, all ye Benedict-ettes who haven’t been around our son for a while and who may be moving disloyally in other circles.  🙂

Fresh blueberries are a great pick-me-up.  Horseradish on your scrambled eggs can be pretty cool, too.  And don’t forget the rutabagas, Lynn.  They’re good.

4 thoughts on “More pick-me-ups

  1. Lynn Rhodes 07/27/2011 / 3:09 pm

    I can’t remember if Winnifred was still living when you were in Greeley. Anyway, once she invited my wife and me to dinner. She wanted to serve things the Scottish poets mentioned. However, she couldn’t find a sheep stomach for haggis, so she settled for making the main course “bashed neeps”. There are only a very few vegetables I can’t handle, one of which is turnips or rutabagas. You guessed it. Bashed neeps is nothing but mashed turnips or rutabagas. So when she asked me how I liked the bashed neeps, the best I could do was tell her that for bashed neeps they were really good.

    Like

    • Brian Casey 07/29/2011 / 8:55 am

      Funny story. I don’t remember a Winnifred, but that doesn’t mean much–I could very well have forgotten during the blur of my grad work.

      Somehow “For bashed neeps, they’re really good” seems quotable, but I’m not sure how to work it into conversation or an e-mail signature.

      Like

    • Brian Casey 07/27/2011 / 5:50 pm

      There hasn’t been enough rain in the last 2-3 weeks here to ripen our wild raspberries–a shame! And absolutely, we freeze lots of blueberries!

      Like

Please share your thoughts. I read every comment.

