Worship with the saints

I was excited to be able to help a brother out.  Frankly, though, I was more excited because I enjoy doing this than because it was helping Mark.

Having been scheduled three weeks ago to lead this Sunday, Mark e-mailed a plea to the rest of us leaders on Wednesday, saying he was so occupied with a summer course that he didn’t think he’d be able to give his plan much thought by Sunday.  I imagine I’m at least as busy as Mark right now, but being a glutton, I opened my mouth for another bite.

Here’s a partial song list:

  • Soldiers of Christ, Arise / To God Be the Glory
  • Again the Lord of Light and Life Awakes the Kindling Ray
  • Great Is Thy Faithfulness
  • Had It Not Been the Lord Who Was On Our Side
  • He Is Exalted / His Name Is Wonderful
  • Lord, I Lift Your Name On High

Then, following that collective recognition that Jesus went from heaven to earth, from the cross to the grave, and then from the grave to the “sky,” we’ll exalt Him through communion.

I’m excited about this morning.  Not just about the songs.  Well, OK, about the songs.  But three of them aren’t even on that list; I’m going to read parts of them instead of singing, since they’re unfamiliar.  Before we sing “Again the Lord of Light and Life Awakes the Kindling Ray” beginning a musical succession about God’s faithfulness, I’ll share bits of Christine Dente’s “Constant,” Cat Stevens’s “Morning Has Broken,” and my own “Faithful,” joined with thoughts from Psalm 89.  Below are some of the words I plan to share.  Maybe the song list above, or the words below, or both, can somehow aid your devotion to our faithful God.

Constant, this stream of distractions runs constantly under my feet.
I keep tripping along, wishing I were stronger,
But I know somewhere up ahead is a place where waters still run deep, they’re whispering “come”— beckoning me on . . .

Constant is my Father’s calling me to follow Him against the current.   I continue on in His promise to be constant.

God did what I could not do— He stayed faithful when I was untrue, so you see I must follow.   Where else could I go?

(c) SparrowSong/ Cafe Dente

Morning has broken, like the first morning
Blackbird has spoken, like the first bird
Praise for the singing, praise for the morning
Praise for them springing fresh from the word

Mine is the sunlight, mine is the morning
Born of the one light, Eden saw play
Praise with elation, praise every morning
God’s recreation of the new day

(c)  Cat Stevens

Lord, You are faithful in every promise; You guide and protect me in everything.
Bread ev’ry day and the shelter of home.  Sunshine and rain; winter’s followed by spring.
Faithfulness follows me day after day.  Your constant providing supplies ev’ry need.
I am Your servant both now and forever.  I’ll follow You as You tenderly lead.

Faithful!  You are faithful, Holding me with Your hand.  Oh, Father, I yield to You:  Your wish is my command.
Faithful!  You are faithful!  I will give you my praise.  Oh, Father, holy Father, gracious in all Your ways.

(c) Brian Casey/Encounter Music

TBA

Please share your thoughts. I read every comment.

