Inhabitants of worlds

Jedd is in my world, as I write this.  He is in my home office, or “study,” as I used to call it.  This “intrusion” was caused when I retrieved the bright, loquacious little guy from his crib and brought him in whilst I compute.  He is in my world.  I brought him in.  It was my choice.  While here, he gets stuff, and he messes around with it, and sometimes it’s OK, and sometimes it’s not as OK.  He talks about stuff, using newfound labels and learning about stuff.  He tries to be good, but sometimes he just meddles.

God chose to bring all of us into His world.  It was his choice.  The disturbance was caused by His infinite love and grace.  We aren’t all that bright, but we are very loquacious as a race.  We multiply words, saying stuff all the time and trying to figure out what we can figure out.  It’s not our world, but we sometimes act as though it is.  We get stuff, and we mess up or drop stuff, and we talk about stuff.  Most of us try to be good most of the time, but often we’re just meddlers.

Jedd sensed that I was stiff this morning and suggested, as I started down the stairs with him in my arms, “Go backwards.”  (He knows my rigid foot joints work better that way.)  Then he added, “Careful, Daddy.”

Later, he was asking to “bite some” of Karly’s food after he’d already had his own.  I reminded him that he doesn’t always get other people’s food, and that he’d already had his own.  He’s not perfect, and he did ask for her food and my food again, but he didn’t throw a fit.  He’s correctable, shapeable.  What a nice little guy.  What a delightful gift he is.  Did I mention that earlier, he lay in his crib by himself for close to an hour, just playing quietly and talking to himself before I went to get him?  Later, we played with him for a while, enjoying his giggles and his words.  Jedd is really easy to like and to love.

When I consider the spheres in which we exist, and the ways we go about living—Jedd in my little “world” and under my care, and me in God’s world, and under His care—I think my son is a lot easier for me to love than I must be for God to love.

Please share your thoughts. I read every comment.

