Rhubarb

I “dormed” with my grandmother when I was in college.  She was “down” one day, and she bought new dishes.  I didn’t understand why she would buy dishes when the old ones were perfectly good.  Another, wise woman suggested, “Sometimes we just need things like that to perk us up.”

The past weekend was down for Karly and me, and I think a large part of that had to do with our decision to find a new home for our sweet doggie Tessa.  (She is really a good dog, despite being a worrier and having a couple of peculiar dog-ality traits.)  The house is emptier now, so it’s no wonder we’re a little down.

Sunday was a particularly “down” day.  Our last small group meeting of the year just didn’t work out, for several reasons, and that discouraged me, as does the prospect of not seeing our friends regularly this summer.  Sundays won’t be the same.

Although I had a few nice conversations on campus and got some things done, yesterday wasn’t that great a day, either.  Winding down another academic year, mourning the brevity of springtime in this part of New York, still feeling overworked … and at the moment of this writing, I’m annoyed at smelling like used engine oil after bouts with the truck and two lawnmowers.  I found that I needed something to perk up my senses and soul, so I did something I’ve never done before.  I ate some raw rhubarb.

Sometimes we need a pick-me-up.

Please share your thoughts. I read every comment.

