Church year

A nearby pastor-type writes this:

The seasons of the church year help us to remember to shape our lives in God’s rhythm of time rather than our own, which is important and necessary because we tend to be forgetful people, especially about Easter.

Hmmm.  If the so-called church year did represent God’s rhythm of time, I would buy in to it.  Being forgetful about Jesus’ resurrection would be inappropriate, but not heeding the “church year” is neither here nor there.  Observing it is a choice one may freely make, I suppose, but one may not look down his nose at me, unchallenged, for simply ignoring the church year.

With that said, I am in some measure drawn to ideals like “God’s rhythm … rather than our own.”  I do long, when I am at my best, to be drawn into the transcendent.

Most of us were raised to celebrate Easter Day. The church calendar reminds us that Easter is bigger than one day; in fact, Easter, which is 50 days, is central to all that it means to be a follower of Jesus Christ.

The “fact” of Easter, as presented here, is relatively insignificant, as it is nowhere mentioned in scripture.  I’ve never before heard the assertion that Easter itself is more than one day.  My lack of hearing doesn’t mean I’m right; it just means the 50-day Easter is unfamiliar to me.  Whatever Easter has historically been or not been, the main thing is Jesus’ resurrection … which brings to mind a famed quote from one Leslie Newbigin:  “I am neither an optimist nor a pessimist … Jesus the Christ is risen from the dead.”

We should pay attention to Jesus’ resurrection (and death and burial, for these are the core of the good news, the Christian kerygma/message) every Sunday, and every other day of the week, too!

Please share your thoughts. I read every comment.

