Plans

I made cinnamon streusel coffee cake today.  It smells good.  I’m going to eat some now, and then finish an essay or two.

Later, I plan to study Colossians.  And pack some things for an upcoming trip.  And clean my electric shaver and shine my shoes.  And talk a walk to the park with Jedd and Karly.  And maybe go for a bike ride and bathe the dog.  Dare I also plan to vacuum and wash the car?  (Sweeping out the garage will have to wait a couple of weeks.)  Maybe a little ironing, and napping to a movie or something.  On the eve of this first day of the week, we plan to be with five siblings and process some more things from Colossians 2, maybe moving into chapter 3.  And we will probably cross-reference to an event or two in Jesus’ life, not wanting to be disconnected from the Head spoken of in Colossians.  Tonight, I hope (and plan) that worship will spring fairly organically from the experience of meditating on Jesus the Christ.

This summer, I have plans, too.  After most of my responsibilities are over for the academic year, I think I’ll teach Jedd to catch a ball and maybe hit a wiffle ball with a bat.  I still want to write some, but not as much.  I think I might read more.  And write some music for brass and wind band.  And simplify life a little by selling, or throwing out, some things I don’t need anymore. And wax the car a couple of times.  And walk and ride my bicycle more than I drive.

All these plans may or may not come to fruition.  They are just plans, and very human ones, at that.

We are told that God has “plans” for us.  Jeremiah 29:11 is one of the most dearly held, if not universally memorized, verses in all of the scriptural corpus.  It makes us feel good in the midst of life’s questions, or even in despair, if we can convince ourselves that there is a specific, intricately detailed plan for each of us–residing in the very mind of God.  We may even assume that we will eventually just fall into the plan.  (Clearly, I doubt this idea.  Here’s a page that at least treats this verse in a bit of context.)

Whether God plans for me to sell my car or house or a piece or music or not, I don’t know.  Whether I will be more or less healthy (read:  exercise my joints more, while eating fewer carbs and more proteins and veggies and fruits), I don’t know.  Whether I will have a job I love or not, I don’t know.  But I know the One in Whom I have believed, “and have been persuaded that He is able that which I have committed to Him to guard — to that day.”  (2 Tim 1:12, Young’s translation.)  I am confident that, despite my misdirections and mistakes in working out short-term plans, the plans He has for me include–and may even consist entirely in–eternal life with Him.

2 thoughts on “Plans

  1. Rachel 04/10/2011 / 11:54 am

    I’m sure you could have guessed that a post on “plans” might have drawn a second glance from me this particular week. I’m glad you challenged, if only in passing, the frequent usage of Jeremiah 29:11, which is a certain pet peeve of mine. This post definitely points in the direction of keeping things in perspective! I do believe your verse is 2 Timothy 1:12, though, instead of 2:12. Just sayin.’

    Like

    • Brian Casey 04/10/2011 / 4:23 pm

      Corrected that to ch. 1–thanks. Also added a missing word from earlier in the post.

      Perspective is frequently a good thing for me, too….

      Like

Please share your thoughts. I read every comment.

