Pairings (3)

When planning corporate worship, I can rarely resist stringing together songs that relate in one way or another.  Starting two days ago, I’m sharing three pairs of songs from Great Songs of the Church (No. 2 or Revised–either book) that a church or small group might use in combination:

  • Master, the Tempest Is Raging
  • Prince of Peace, Control My Will

The first song is one of Karly’s favorites.  Its words carry one from instruction and awareness of the time Jesus calmed the storm on Lake Galilee (“Master, the tempest is raging! The billows are tossing high!) to prayer in personal times of storm (“The depths of my sad heart are troubled.  Oh, waken and save, I pray!) to calm thankfulness for His watchcare (“Master, the terror is over; the elements sweetly rest).  The chorus is as compelling lyrically as it is musically:

The winds and the waves shall obey Thy will,
Peace, be still!
Whether the wrath of the storm tossed sea,
Or demons or men, or whatever it be
No waters can swallow the ship where lies
The Master of ocean, and earth, and skies!
They all shall sweetly obey Thy will.
Peace, be still! Peace, be still!
They all shall sweetly obey Thy will.
Peace, peace, be still!

The song’s dynamic indications (rare in congregational church music) augment the drama and the heart’s worship of this Master of All.  And now, the pairing:  it seems entirely fulfilling to proceed from this rather historical, faith-filled, dynamic song to a softer, more intimate prayer–something along the lines of “Prince of Peace, Control My Will.”

Prince of Peace, control my will;
Bid the struggling heart be still;
Bid my fears and doubtings cease,
Hush my spirit into peace.

Thou hast bought me with Thy blood,
Opened wide the gate to God;
Peace I ask, but peace must be,
Lord, in being one with Thee.

May Thy will, not mine, be done;
May Thy will and mine be one;
Chase these doubtings from my heart,
Now Thy perfect peace impart.

Savior, at Thy feet I fall,
Thou my life, my God, my all;
Let Thy happy servant be
One forevermore with Thee!

Please share your thoughts. I read every comment.

