LLL

Post # 665

An LLL today:  a Lucadoism about Living Liturgically . . . Max Lucado once wrote, in a list of bits of advice, “Live your liturgy.”

I’m not sure what he meant by that, but I think I’d probably affirm the idea.

“Liturgy” (derived at some point from the Greek leitourgeia, which denotes temple activities and such) is sometimes thought of as the stuff that comes from the so-called “church year” and responsorial procedures and such.  I think of it as broader than that and would like to call into question all of us who sing and pray and read and recite (yes, recite—oh, those horribly drab, perfunctory recitations) things and then pretty much forget about them for the rest of the day and week.

I think this is one reason I like being with other Christians on Sunday evening.  It’s a little closer to the rest of the week, and it’s just a teensy bit more likely, therefore, that I might actually remember something we shared so that I can live it out.

Please share your thoughts. I read every comment.

