Work (6–what’s the center?)

Post # 664

As a couple of you have noticed, a little bit ago, I posted a couple of blogs on work that I decided to protect by password.  This might seem an odd move, but I had reasons, not the least of which was that I wanted to get some negative things off my mind.

So, although this is the 4th recent, work-related post visible to the public, it is the 6th total.  In this one, I want to consider a bit more what I was writing about here–the hub or center of things.

In the work environment,

  • if money is central, people are devalued, and there may be palpable effect on morale
  • if process is central, people and product are both devalued
  • if product is central, assessment and quality control may eclipse deeper, more long-term growth in people
  • if hierarchy is central, ideas and common sense may be subjugated to protocol
  • if ideas are central, those with left-brain gifts in planning may be left out in the cold, and nothing may ever be accomplished
  • if the “doers” are central, those with ideas may be marginalized even worse

Much of the above can also apply to churches.  In churches, if a pastor or preacher views himself as the center, that creates a dynamic and a set of expectations.  If a disgruntled member views himself as the center, that too creates a set of expectations.

In August last year, I listed ten possible “centers” for churches.  No. 3 in that list was Jesus.  It was intentional that He wasn’t placed first or last but in the middle—indicative of about how much consideration He seems to get in church goings-on.  The question remains, though:  what if Jesus is really at the center?  How does that alter our procedures?  Our pressing concerns?  Our outlook?

Frank Viola and Len Sweet recently published Jesus Manifesto, and I’m of the impression that this book has begun to sweep through the ranks of those who call themselves Christian but who are at various points along the way with regard to truly giving all allegiance, all thought-ties, all lasting adoration to Jesus.

Jesus as center.  It seems an appropriate way to address Jesus in worship, too. . . .

Jesus, be the centre
Be my source, be my light
Jesus

Jesus, be the centre
Be my hope, be my song
Jesus

(Chorus)
Be the fire in my heart
Be the wind in these sails
Be the reason that I live
Jesus, Jesus

Words and music by Michael Frye

© 1999 Vineyard Songs

[Yes, another Vineyard song in the guitar-friendly key of D, but that’s beside the point.]
3 thoughts on “Work (6–what’s the center?)

  1. chanceman4 03/22/2011 / 10:31 am

    If Jesus isn’t the center of what we are about, then we are “about” the wrong things. If you get a chance, please come and check out my site at chanceman4. My name is Chris Chance and there is a link on my blog to listen to my CD, “Following You” featuring “You” and “His Prints Are in the Sand” (based on the Footprints poem). Also you can go to http://www.noisetrade.com/chrischance. You can download any or all of my songs for the price of your choosing…pretty good deal…you can even get them for free, as long as you put in an email address and zip code. We are trying to get this project up and moving, so anything you can do and any way you could pass it on would be greatly appreciated.Hope you enjoy and are blessed by it!!!!
    Thanks and God Bless!
    Chris

    Like

Please share your thoughts. I read every comment.

