Stillness, aloneness, and energy

Having abandoned my “Monday Music” series in which I shared the words of–and thoughts about the words of–worthy Christian songs and hymns, I’d like to offer something along those lines on today, a Friday. First, a preface.

I’m alone for a couple of days.  Karly and Jedd are with friends Krista and Joy, and I’m “dogsitting.”

The jumbo bag of Dunkin Donuts decaf gave me instructions.  It didn’t quit with the measuring amounts or the caveat “adjust to taste.”  It added something along the lines of “And now your day can officially begin.”  Somehow the idea that coffee has the power to begin my day is offensive, so I thought about it a little more.

I’m alone.  What do I need to get me going?  Anything at all?  When I’m still, in sleep or in thought or in mesmerized nothingness, what enervates and energizes me?

Sometimes it’s food or drink.  Sometimes it’s the sense of responsibility.  Sometimes it’s musical fulfillment that inspires or awaits (or both).  Sometimes it’s a spiritual hope or longing.  Coffee, though?  Nah.  It was decaf, anyway.

College students have for years been pulling all-nighters and using caffeine to feed the supposed habit of needing to stay up long hours to write, read, and study.  I’m not sure this habit represents an actual need in all that many cases.  Rather, the fact that students often don’t go to bed until after midnight probably stems from their lack of household/parental constraints more than from their academic pressures.  Yet they do take in caffeine in large doses at times, needing to be energized.

Maybe it’s not that kind of energy we need.  Maybe it’s stillness we need more. Meditate on the words below, and consider the One with Whom you are alone and still, in both the current and the final analysis.  There are more stanzas, and the third one here is new to me, but I’ll leave it with these, hoping you will take these in.

If you are alone, or if you feel alone, it is a good thing.  If you are still, revel in that stillness and know that God is alive.

Still, still with Thee, when purple morning breaketh,
When the bird waketh, and the shadows flee;
Fairer than morning, lovelier than daylight,
Dawns the sweet consciousness, I am with Thee.

Alone with Thee, amid the mystic shadows,
The solemn hush of nature newly born;
Alone with Thee in breathless adoration,
In the calm dew and freshness of the morn.

Still, still with Thee, as to each newborn morning,
A fresh and solemn splendor still is given,
So does this blessèd consciousness, awaking,
Breathe each day nearness unto Thee and Heaven.

Please share your thoughts. I read every comment.

