Cloud cover

One

When we lived in Colorado, although it was just for two years for graduate school, we became pretty accustomed to the sun.  We experienced an amazing number of sunny days there, and even the “cloudy” days seemed sunny and bright.  Often in the summer, delightful, 5-minute spritzings of rain would come out of the sunshine, hardly interrupting the sun at all.  Sunnyness was ubiquitous.

Now, in western New York, when it’s 7:58 A.M. and it’s dark, something seems wrong.  There is just so much cloud cover, whether the clouds involve rain or snow.

I imagine the relative darkness has much to do with our position within the time zone and our latitude, as well as the effects of Lake Erie and Lake Ontario (90 minutes to our west and north, respectively).  Regardless, the darkness and cloud cover sometimes overwhelm me, and it makes it almost inconceivable to have a job that would require me to be up at 5:00 or 6:00 A.M.  Those are hours for being under a different kind of cover.

Two

Sometimes, the feeling of being unyieldingly pummeled by ongoing, regular and new, single tasks becomes  a massive, gray sky of clouds through which the sun cannot be seen.  There is also the weight of worry and fear of making decisions that will be judgmentally apprehended, not to mention the years’ cumulative effect of insecurity.  I have never stayed in bed all day, nor have I been unable to function because of the clouds of negative feelings, but I suspect I have 10% of some chemical situation that in greater amount might amount to a diagnosable depression.

Three

Sometimes physical aches & pains overshadow my psyche like cloud cover.  I have nearly constant neck tension and aching, and foot joint issues, and a shoulder that clouds my days as I wonder a) when I’ll ever make time for bona fide physical therapy treatment I need, and b) what will happen in my vocation if my right shoulder gets worse, since I’m a conductor.

Shoot—I could help myself by simply taking five or ten minutes for good stretching exercises (letting alone the lack of real workouts for five months) before activity, but time constraints frequently cloud my judgment.

Four

Then the cloud covered the Tabernacle, and the glorious presence of the LORD filled it. Moses was no longer able to enter the Tabernacle because the cloud had settled down over it, and the Tabernacle was filled with the awesome glory of the LORD.  Now whenever the cloud lifted from the Tabernacle and moved, the people of Israel would set out on their journey, following it.  But if the cloud stayed, they would stay until it moved again.  The cloud of the LORD rested on the Tabernacle during the day, and at night there was fire in the cloud so all the people of Israel could see it. This continued throughout all their journeys. Exodus 40:34-38

Please share your thoughts. I read every comment.

