Chase’s broken system

Before we moved across country from Colorado to New York State in 2007, I informed all the major enterprises with which I was seeking to continue relationship:  charitable organizations, a couple of magazines, cell phone company, etc. . . . and my credit card company, Chase Bank, NA.  (Who knows what their official name is now?  Financial companies seem to buy up, buy out, divest, combine, and change names willy-nilly.)

So, as I was saying, I informed Chase of our move, giving them the effective date and the new home address.  We had no issues during the trip.  At every stop, we charged the card:  $100 in the U-haul, $30 in the car, $5 in our mouths.  I’m sure we’d racked up $1,000 on the card as we trekked, and it would have been quite easy to follow our progress on Chase’s fraud alert map:  Colorado, Nebraska, Iowa, Illinois, Indiana, Ohio, New York.  We arrived and began to settle in.  Then, a day or two later, we had our first outing to civilization.  Wal-mart and Wegmans, here we come.

Our credit card was denied as we attempted to buy household items for our new place.  It seems the large amount ($400+, as I recall) was viewed as a possible fraud, and I spent 10 minutes on the phone going through representatives, supervisors, and managers in order to explain that yes, this was me, and yes, we had just moved, just as I had previously informed you, and yes, we were actually needing to buy household things for . . . oh, wait . . our new house!  What an annoying intrusion into a difficult few days—a credit card company that thought it should flag us for doing what was quite normal and expected.  And what’s worse was that it happened again less than a week later.  The same card was denied at the same Wal-mart for the same reason.

Chase’s fraud alert system was broken.  It should have been clear, given the new address and the well-communicated move (not to mention the first, heated phone conversation), that we were who we said we were, and that we were buying legit things for a legit new house.

When systems are broken, they need to be fixed.  Whenever next we move, I intend to make this point in advance with Chase, in order to head off issues.  Chase, being a huge corporation that is now, I think, owned by JPMorgan, is not likely to listen to people who tell them they need to fix systems.

But, umm, yeah . . . . when systems are broken, they do need to be fixed.  Church?  Christendom?  Do you hear this?

3 thoughts on “Chase’s broken system

  1. BloggersAgainstChaseBank 01/03/2011 / 2:34 am

    I think I can explain what might have happened. That doesn’t necessarily exonerate Chase Bank, and I am just guessing.

    I was once told by a Chase Bank employee that if certain fees, penalties or fraud alerts are overturned by an employee, the employees of that branch could end up actually having their pay deducted if either that branch refunded too many fees or penalties in a months time, or if a fraud alert was cleared except that it was actually fraud for real.

    In other words, there are certain kinds of refunds that if issued can result in employees being docked pay. This is what somebody said to me once who worked for Chase Bank.

    Is that even a legal thing to do?

    http://www.swarmthebanks.com
    http://www.parallelforeclosure.com
    http://www.thecatwhoatechasebank.com
    http://www.robotsagainstchase.com
    http://www.daily-protest.com

    Like

    • Brian Casey 01/05/2011 / 12:46 pm

      Hmmm. While I appreciate the thoroughness of whatever mechanism was used to find my comments on Chase, I really don’t think this comment has anything to do with what I posted about my long-ago negative Chase card experience.

      What I really hope is that whoever found me (and might find me again) is more interested in my endpoint suggestion that churchianity needs to be fixed–rather than thinking the whole of my energy was expended for the sake of criticism of an obese business and its particular, broken system. 🙂 My purpose was really in the last line, not in the main body, which was a means to an end.

      Like

Please share your thoughts. I read every comment.

