Simple remembrance

As a believer, I’m moved by the idea (if not the actuality) of communion—the “Supper” that is intended to commemorate the Lord Jesus’ death until He comes again.

As an observer of “religion,” I’m not drawn in by invented labels such as “Maundy Thursday” and “Holy Communion” that seem to me to attempt to imbue a simple remembrance with significance based on notions of sacrament, tradition, and trappings.

In other words, invite me to a “communal meal during which we’ll memorialize the Lord in a focused way,” instead of inviting me to a “Maundy Thursday Service of Holy Communion.”

Please share your thoughts. I read every comment.

