Baptism–“cradled up in the arms of the Lord”

Some years ago, in my primary study Bible, I started crossing out the word “baptize” (and its cognates), writing instead the more literal “immerse.”  I figure it’s about time that we get past the the hangups of ol’ King James’s transliterators.  Around the same time, I began looking for ways to excuse those who rejected New Covenant baptism as a requisite for being in a continuing, relationship with God.  (Odd, isn’t it?)

At this point I’m a little more simple about it.  It’s crystal-clear to me that immersion in water is integral in conversion.  And I’m overjoyed (to the point of tears on several occasions) upon hearing a country song that paints a beautiful picture of a New Covenant baptism:

The summer breeze made ripples on the pond
And rattled through the reeds and the willow trees beyond.
Daddy in his good hat, and Momma in her Sunday dress
Watched with pride as I stood there in the water up to my chest.
The preacher spoke about the cleansing blood
As I sank my toes into that cool East Texas mud.

Chorus:
It was down with the old man; up with the new
Raised to walk in the ways of light and truth.
I didn’t see no angels — just a few saints on the shore.
But I felt like a newborn baby cradled up in the arms of the Lord.

There was glory in the air and dinner on the grounds,
And my sins, which were many, were washed away and gone
Along with a Buffalo nickel I forgot to leave at home
But that seemed like such a small price to pay
For the blessed peace of mind that came to me that day.

(Chorus)

This road is long and dusty.
Sometimes the soul, it must be cleansed.
And I long to feel that water rushing over me again.
I didn’t see no angels — just a few saints on the shore.
But I felt like a newborn baby cradled up in the arms of the Lord.
– “Baptism,” by Mickey Cates. Sung by Randy Travis on the album Inspirational Journey.

I hope that, over time, I can present to my son that accurate, joyful, and poignant a picture of immersion into Jesus.  Amen.

References (read larger contexts, too!)

  • Rom. 6:1-4
  • Col. 2:9-12
  • Gal. 3:24-29
  • 1 Peter 3:17-22
  • plus, all the immersions peppered throughout the Acts of the Apostles
One thought on “Baptism–“cradled up in the arms of the Lord”

Please share your thoughts. I read every comment.

