Commemoration

Genesis 12:7 mentions Abram’s commemoration of the “Lord’s visit” (at least this is the wording of the NLT) in the form of an altar. This little event in the life of one of our spiritual forbears seems significant: that Abram recognized the coming-down of YHVH and did something tangible to acknowledge it is an example for us.  Later, Abram was at the same place and worshipped the Lord again there.

I think there is more to commemoration of spiritually significant events than your garden-variety observance of the “Lord’s Supper” would seem to imply.

Mind you, I still can’t stomach the notions of consubstantiation or transubstantiation, but I do wish there were more sense of “presence” in communion.

3 thoughts on “Commemoration

  1. Evan 08/25/2008 / 9:42 am

    I have found through the years that Communion has taken on a new significance the less I have partaken in it. Let me see if I can word that a little differently. Growing up in a church were Communion was taken every week, I feel (and this was my own fault, not that fault of the church) that it lost a lot of its power and meaning in my life. I knew, in my head, what was going on, and the act that we were remembering, but doing it weekly and having it “shoved” into a 10 minute box each week just seemed to weaken the effect in my life.

    As I have attended other churches with different schedules, I have found that if it is not a weekly event but rather something you participate in perhaps monthly or bi-monthly, it takes on a whole new meaning. There is more significance for me. It also helps that the entire service revolves around the event. The music, the sermon, the scripture…all of it focuses our hearts toward the act that we are remembering. When the actual pieces are past, there is reverence, and prayer, and reflection, and you can almost not help but be drawn into the presence of our Almighty God.

    Like

  2. blcasey 08/27/2008 / 10:02 pm

    Your thoughts resonate with me. Thank you for offering your heart on this, Evan.

    The “10-minute box” thing has often been troublesome for me, too. I’ve wished for more, and I’ve wished for less. Something other than a punch-the-time-clock mentality!

    Like

  3. jhinckley 09/02/2008 / 8:34 pm

    IMO, the “10-minute box” thing is the guilty party. More often than not we treat communion as something to “get out of the way” so we can get back to our singing and sermons (both being activities that tend to focus on the human participants more than the Almighty). I often wish I could spend more time with my church family focusing on the basis for our salvation rather than trying to hurry as quickly and quietly as possible through what has become a horribly warped reflection of the original “event”.

    Oh, and Abram was the man. 🙂

    Like

Please share your thoughts. I read every comment.

